• |
  • PDF
  • |
  • |
Norman W. Gutmacher Photo

Norman W. Gutmacher

  • T:216.363.4591
  • F:216.363.4588
  • M:216.789.8777
+ Assistant Contact

Norman W. Gutmacher is a partner in Benesch's Real Estate & Environmental Practice Group and is located in the firm's Cleveland office. He began his practice with Benesch in 1971 and became a partner in 1979. During his career, Norm has served in multiple leadership roles such as being on Benesch's Management Committee and Chair of Benesch's Real Estate & Environmental Practice Group, among others. Norm focuses his practice on commercial real estate matters, particularly commercial leasing, commercial development, acquisitions and divestitures, property acquisitions and real estate financing. His practice is national in scope, often representing national chains and franchisees.

Norm is an active Fellow of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers (ACREL) and is a current member of its Leasing Committee, Insurance Committee and Practice Technology Committee. He is a past member of ACREL's Board of Governors, as well as a past member and past Secretary of its Executive Committee. Norm is the former Chair of ACREL’s Leasing Committee and the former Co-Chair of its Practice Technology Committee. Norm also is a member of the Real Estate Sections of the American, Ohio State and Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Associations. Since 1987, Mr. Gutmacher has been an active member of the Northeast Ohio Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and has previously served as an officer and director in the organization.


    • University of Cincinnati College of Law, 1971, J.D.
      • Order of the Coif
      • Note Editor, Law Review
    • The Ohio State University, 1968, B.S.

    • Ohio
    • American Bar Association; Real Estate Section
    • Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association; Real Estate Section
    • Ohio State Bar Association, Real Estate Section

    • Member, American College of Real Estate Lawyers (ACREL)

      • Past Chair, ACREL Leasing Committee
      • Past Co-Chair, ACREL Innovation & Practice Committee
      • Member, ACREL Executive Committee (2008-2009)